Home > homework > For our last class

For our last class

Next week your final projects are due!

You’ll be doing three things for the projects:

1) The project itself. If you’re building something that resides on the web, please paste a link to the comments of this post, and that’s handed in. If it’s a keynote-based mockup or some other non-web entity, I will need a copy that I’ll transfer onto a flash drive.

2) A presentation. This should explain and introduce your idea, as well as your process of creation. You should have at least two slides for this section. After the introduction, you will give a brief walkthrough/demo/show-n-tell. TOTAL TIME for the presentation and walkthrough should not exceed five minutes.

3) A report. This should cover the motivation behind the idea, how the idea fits into a broader mobile landscape, the development of the concept and the product, and a narrative walkthrough of the final thing. The report should be around 800 words.

Come to class prepared to present, and will all the pieces!

ps. Don’t forget your mobile blog!!!

Categories: homework
  1. Laura Kozak
    May 12, 2010 at 2:21 am
    IMG_0237

    Photo’s from my QR code the campus project.

  2. May 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    http://mojofinal.tumblr.com/

    My Tumblr blog on two open mic nights at Uncommon Ground.

  3. Evan Minsker
    May 12, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    http://qnatoday.tumblr.com/

    Q&A Today – One Q&A, once a day for your iPad. (Fair warning, it’ll look insane unless you look at it on an iPad.)

  4. Mina
    May 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Titled “Alternative to P4k,” my Tumblr blog and my map are below:

    http://guidetop4k2010.tumblr.com/

  5. Wyatt Danz
  6. Ian Sansavera
    May 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm
  7. Paris Puckett
    May 12, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Here’s my link: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF&msa=0&msid=
    112781270688426099886.000485d9500ae80b5bc6f

  8. Ian Sansavera
    May 13, 2010 at 1:04 am

    This is incase the email epically failed in sending my final paper…

    Ian Sansavera
    Final Paper
    May 12, 2010

    The motivation behind Spoon Me Chicago actually spawned from another idea we did in this class. I got the idea from the mapping project where we had to pick points on a map and make pins etc. This project was like that, but with a little bit of a mobile twist. I used the iPhones UrbanSpoon App, which geo-locates you to a neighborhood, and then directs you to a completely random restaurant of the iPhone’s choosing. I used this App to determine where I would eat lunch / dinner for 10 days.
    Each day, I filmed myself using the app to show a “real time” moment of me discovering where I would be eating, and from there, I went to the restaurant and either filmed, took photos, or captured audio of the restaurant. Once I did that, I went back and wrote a review on the restaurant based on 4 main categories. Atmosphere, Customer Service, Food, and Location.
    This project seemed perfect for mobile journalism because not only am I leaving where I eat up to a phone, I’m documenting my adventure using the phone, and ultimately tumblr, as well.
    So, the final product looks something like this: A 10 day recount of my UrbanSpoon adventures. Each post includes a video, and within that video are photos and audio recordings. Under the video is my review of the restaurant, again, based on 4 categories. Here is a sample of my customer service section of day 5:
    Customer Service: HORRIBLE! The girl behind the counter didn’t acknowledge my presence at first, and when I was looking for a menu she snapped at me and said “what do you want”. She was chewing gum and looked pissed off. I asked for a menu and she picked one up and half-ass tossed it at me, and then got her cell phone out and was texting when I was looking over the menu. I ordered a chicken parmesan sandwich and fries and a salad, and when I went to go pay with my debit card, the snatched it out of my hand and then tossed it back to me with a receipt and said “sign this”. Once I did, she angrily told me my food would be ready in 10 min. I waited outside, and then she brought my food out, handed it to me and said in a sarcastic bitchy tone “have a great one”. I will never go back there just based on how I was treated.
    What I found out using UrbanSpoon, it tends to “randomly generate” restaurants in your area that receive the highest reviews from it’s users. That means your trip will be more than likely to either a chain restaurant, or the most frequently visited restaurant on your block. Occasionally, however, you’d get little gems of restaurants that aren’t that well known.
    I wanted to make this blog as interesting as possible, both visually (which is the video portion) and helpful (my reviews).
    Some problems did occur while embarking on the magical journey, however. Technology is sketchy, and sometimes decides not to work. My laptop gave me problems, by iPhone video camera game me problems, and my iphone audio recorder gave me problems. The god news was, they were all problems that could be fixed.
    The restaurants I encountered along the way were:
    Chipotle
    Buddy Guy’s Legends
    Hackneys
    Go Roma
    Eduardo’s Pizza
    Bongo Room
    Potbelly
    Yolk
    Flacos Tacos
    Baskin Robins
    The only thing I can say about this project is I did it because I love food. I love cooking food, eating food, talking about food, and especially letting other people know where they can get good food, and how to avoid bad food or bad experiences.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

